Shoutbox

sysmalakian: Birthday month starts now!
362 days ago

diceophonic: Vampiro Classics 2024 reissue
343 days ago

SabedLeepski: Sunburn Surf Fest for some scorching hot surf music: https://sunb...
300 days ago

skeeter: I know a Polish sound guy.
228 days ago

skeeter: I know a Czech one too!
228 days ago

PatGall: Surfybear metal settings
148 days ago

Pyronauts: Happy Tanks-Kicking!
126 days ago

midwestsurfguy: Merry Christmas!
95 days ago

sysmalakian: HAPPY NEW YEAR!
88 days ago

SabedLeepski: Surfin‘ Europe, for surf (related) gigs and events in Europe Big Razz https://sunb...
49 days ago

Please login or register to shout.

Current Polls

No polls at this time. Check out our past polls.

Current Contests

No contests at this time. Check out our past contests.

Donations

Help us meet our monthly goal:

100%

100%

Donate Now

Cake March Birthdays Cake
SG101 Banner

SurfGuitar101 Forums » Gear »

Permalink What organ sounds for surf?

Goto Page: 1 2 Next

I'm a guitarist through and through. Don't know much about what organ or keyboard sounds are typically heard in surf music.

I record surf music tracks though, and I'd like to add organ/key melody lines. What type of organ sound should I be looking for for that that classic surf sound?

There are combo organs like the Farfisa used by The Avenegrs VI or Zorba & The Greeks in the 60s. Frequently with wrecking crew side men in the studio there was a Hammond B3. The sound on The Ventures records is quite different than on, say, The Super Stocks or Ghouls recordings. The versatility of the organ concept allows players to create a trade mark sound. But I'm a guitar player myself and even though I used to play a little organ I never got deep enough into organs to tell you more about the settings.

The Exotic Guitar of Kahuna Kawentzmann

You can get the boy out of the Keynes era, but you can’t get the Keynes era out of the boy.

Last edited: Jul 24, 2020 11:37:56